Review of The Fork, the Witch and the Worm (Eragon #5)

The first book taking place in Eragon’s world, Alagaësia, outside of the tetralogy of Inheritance Cycle. Published in 2018, apparently, the first of several storybooks that Paolini plans to publish.

If you want to read the reviews of the other Eragon books, that is, those of the Inheritance Cycle, below you will find the corresponding links:


“The fork, the witch and the worm” must be Christopher Paolini’s first short book in his short career. Furthermore, he himself explains this in the final comments of the book, when he thanks everyone who made the production of the book possible; there he states that he did not believe it was possible to make a 500-page book. Listening to this type of comments, I would love to know what Paolini’s creative process looks like. Sincerely. When I write myself, first of all, it is hard to put ideas on paper, and then, I am very strict when editing, and I take a lot out. If you have seen my reviews of previous books, that is, of those in the tetralogy of the Inheritance Cycle, the editing part does not seem to exist in Paolini’s world.

But let’s talk about this book, and not the whole series: “The fork, the witch and the worm” is made up of three parts, which are those mentioned in the title of the book, that is, and sorry for repeating: the fork, the witch and the worm, which is really a dragon. The Fork is a story about Murtagh, the witch a story about Angela, and the worm, a story about a dragon and an ancient group of Urgals, one of Alagaësia’s races. Sorry that I insist on this point discussed in the previous paragraph, but I think it is thanks to the fact that the book is limited to these three stories that Paolini was able to maintain the extension of this book to the pages that it finally had. The reader has, however, a brief glimpse of the old Paolini (that is, that of the extensive descriptions) in the story of the dragon. However, since it’s only a chapter, that reminiscence ends soon.

Final comment: The book is not essential for a reader who is not a fan of the Inheritance Cycle books (plus, you need to read them before this one, or it will not make any sense to you). The end of “The fork, the witch and the worm” gives us hope that we may hear more Eragon stories in the future. Again, only important if have been following the series. As it is a short read, I would recommend it as reading material for a rainy weekend, and for someone who does not have too many expectations of it.

Book quote: Sometimes you have to stand and fight. Sometimes running away isn’t an option.

Keep on reading,

GG Klimt

Questions to answer in the comments:
Have you read any of the books in the Eragon series, the so-called Inheritance Cycle? And, in particular, have you read «The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm»? Did you like it? Do you agree with my final comments on the book? Have you read a similar book of the same genre that you would like to recommend? Please answer these questions in the comments section.

Anuncio publicitario

Deja una respuesta

Por favor, inicia sesión con uno de estos métodos para publicar tu comentario:

Logo de

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Salir /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Salir /  Cambiar )

Conectando a %s